New piano

New to BS12? Come here for information on how to perform in a specific role!

New piano

Postby Tastyfish » 28 Dec 2011 12:54

Bunch o' help text IG, but if anyone is fundamentally confused by it, just ask me.

OR
Just use the midi->piano code program I made and paste dat output exactly as-is straight into the import screen for the piano. Only pays attention to the first track with note content, so you'll have to flatten songs to 1 track.
Also, fast songs sounds like crap, due to a technical maximum speed of it parsing the music.

Download v3 (Requires .NET 4/2010 runtimes.)
Last edited by Tastyfish on 04 Feb 2012 01:18, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tastyfish
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 11 Aug 2011 15:19
Location: Earf

Re: New piano

Postby Hawk_v3 » 28 Dec 2011 13:03

Grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the Courage to change the things I cannot accept,
and the Wisdom to hide the bodies of those people I had to kill today because they pissed me off.
User avatar
Hawk_v3
Syndicate Leader
Syndicate Leader
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: 25 Feb 2011 18:40
Location: Tinkering with your air supply.

Re: New piano

Postby Spectre » 28 Dec 2011 15:16

Those probably qualify as fast songs.
User avatar
Spectre
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 12036
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 15:13
Location: Germany

Re: New piano

Postby Miniature » 28 Dec 2011 15:20

I would imagine you could still play them, if you did not mind them sounding terrible due to BYOND.

As for the OP: I assume it gets the first track no matter what, would it be possible to only get piano tracks? Unless the piano is always the first track in .midi. I don't know how it's set up.
Well, this certainly is an age of progress.
User avatar
Miniature
BS12 Developer
BS12 Developer
 
Posts: 6369
Joined: 11 Sep 2010 16:04
Location: Behind you.
Byond key: Miniature
AI name: J.A.S.A.N.

Re: New piano

Postby Tastyfish » 28 Dec 2011 16:27

Eh, I could change it to pull first piano track, failing that the first track. Of course, a track can change instruments at any point, but just going with starting instrument, yeah.

Updated, see OP
Last edited by Tastyfish on 28 Dec 2011 17:02, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tastyfish
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 11 Aug 2011 15:19
Location: Earf

Re: New piano

Postby Din182 » 28 Dec 2011 23:22

But why must it be on MEGAUPLOAD! It is the second worst thing for ads and viruses on the internet, the first being Adfly.
User avatar
Din182
Syndicate
Syndicate
 
Posts: 272
Joined: 30 Nov 2011 00:40
Location: Somewhere in Nev-, wait, no, Canada.

Re: New piano

Postby Spectre » 29 Dec 2011 00:30

you should totally use filesmelt. ;P
User avatar
Spectre
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 12036
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 15:13
Location: Germany

Re: New piano

Postby Tastyfish » 29 Dec 2011 08:15

Fine, also derped the tempo code with the piano change, so fixed again.
User avatar
Tastyfish
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 11 Aug 2011 15:19
Location: Earf

Re: New piano

Postby Strumpetplaya » 30 Dec 2011 18:27

Tasty this change is awesome.

I cheated and got an admin to unanchor the piano for me, so I was dragging it around the station playing Still Alive while the AI and a nuke team were wreaking havoc around me.

It was beautiful.

I do think normal players should be able to unanchor and move the piano without admin intervention, though. >:D

Also, usually the tempo detected by midi2piano, and the tempo actually needed in-game for the song to sound remotely right would be way off.  For instance, say the tempo of a song is 120,  midi2piano might detect it as 171, and ingame it would need to be played at 240 to sound decent.

Other than that, it's really cool, and if it weren't for all the lag spikes and stuff in game due to all the processing, it would probably sound great.
Last edited by Strumpetplaya on 30 Dec 2011 19:06, edited 1 time in total.
----------------------------------------------------------
Image
User avatar
Strumpetplaya
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: 11 Aug 2010 19:48

Re: New piano

Postby SkyMarshal » 31 Dec 2011 00:42

Strumpet, that was amazing with you dragging the piano through the hallways, and playing "Still Alive" while the world collapsed around you xD
Used to be a developer, feel free to ask me things if you are confused or curious.
User avatar
SkyMarshal
BS12 Developer
BS12 Developer
 
Posts: 1728
Joined: 20 Feb 2011 22:00
Location: Orbiting a dead star
Byond key: SkyMarshal
AI name: G.D.O.U.

Re: New piano

Postby Tastyfish » 31 Dec 2011 01:02

Oh yeah, I was a bit lazy with the tempo detection, because it's needlessly complex in midi. It sometimes detects it as twice or half as fast, or something weird.
User avatar
Tastyfish
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 11 Aug 2011 15:19
Location: Earf

Re: New piano

Postby Crabnumber » 31 Dec 2011 15:05

You got an application that turns a midi onto only the piano track too? :P
~ Probably will disappear for shit-tons of time without informing you. not waifu enough ~

http://optiquest.org/ - InfernoPOLAREmptymoo - Hellmoo minus the care bears players and uh, a large number of players POLARIS EMPTY ROOMS.
User avatar
Crabnumber
Game Administrator
Game Administrator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: 27 Nov 2011 03:35
Location: Bawlin' n' Trawlin'

Re: New piano

Postby Tastyfish » 31 Dec 2011 16:13

That..that's what the program in the OP does. Unless, you mean merging the tracks into one. I use an actual midi editor for that.
User avatar
Tastyfish
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 11 Aug 2011 15:19
Location: Earf

Re: New piano

Postby Miniature » 13 Jan 2012 12:34

Holy shit I did one!
I'll prettify that page at some point, and add more when I get around to making them. (I plan to do a version of Rainbow Factory next, but I'll probably get bored halfway through. Oh, and I haven't properly finished this one but I don't think there's a way to do volume on this thing so the left hand stuff will just end up being really loud. :( )

EDIT:
So I just made a thing so you don't need to screw around with downloading the BS12 source or be a terrible to play with the piano.
Just unzip it somewhere and run BS12Piano.dmb.
>DOWNLOAD<
Source is included. Also an alternate download for the converter here.
Last edited by Miniature on 13 Jan 2012 18:44, edited 1 time in total.
Well, this certainly is an age of progress.
User avatar
Miniature
BS12 Developer
BS12 Developer
 
Posts: 6369
Joined: 11 Sep 2010 16:04
Location: Behind you.
Byond key: Miniature
AI name: J.A.S.A.N.

Re: New piano

Postby Erthilo » 13 Jan 2012 23:46

ITT - We post stuff that sounds good on the piano.

http://baystation12.net/wiki/index.php/Piano

Hope you don't mind me nicking what you posted Miniature.
I'm retired, despite all claims to the contrary!
Erthilo
Retired Administrator
Retired Administrator
 
Posts: 923
Joined: 08 Apr 2011 15:28

Next

Return to Tutorials and information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: InterimJim and 1 guest